InformationBody Permissions control what project content users can access and which project features they can use. Permissions are assigned to roles. Users in the same role have the same content access. If a user needs different access, assign the user to a different role. How permissions work There are two types of permissions: content access and feature access. Content access controls what users can view, print, download, or manage.Feature access controls which project tools users can use, such as redaction, analytics, and trackers. Permissions are assigned based on role. A role is a group of users who have the same access to content. You can create as many roles as needed for the different levels of access in your project. See What are roles. Understand content access levels Content access determines what a role can do with project content. There are five content-access levels: Hidden - The role cannot see the content. A red dot represents Hidden access.View - The role can view the content onscreen but cannot print or download it. The first segment represents View access.Print - The role can view and print the content. The second segment represents Print access.Download - The role can view, print, and download the content. The third segment represents Download access.Manage - The role can perform supported content-management actions. The last segment represents Manage access. See Role with Manage permissions. Create foldersUpload filesCopy unpublished filesMove unpublished filesReorder unpublished files and foldersRename unpublished itemsReplace unpublished itemsMove unpublished items to the recycle bin Each content-access level includes the levels below it. You can apply a permission to the whole fileroom, to individual folders, or to specific documents. Verify access with View As Use View As after you set permissions to check the project from the perspective of a specific role. Ensure that the content you want the role to see is published and that the project is launched. Then, open the options menu next to the role and select View As, or click View As in the upper-right area and select a role. A new browser tab opens and displays the project from the selected role's perspective. To return to the Project Admin view, close the new browser tab. Understand feature access Feature access controls which project tools a role can use. Some features also require a specific content-access level. General Publishing*Download Multiple Files**Inviting a UserAnalyticsRedaction Pipeline UsersDashboardsTrackersInboxContactsActivitiesRemindersTear Sheets Acquire Commenting on a FileFindingsSeller Content AccessTrackersAcquire Dashboard * The role must also have Manage access. ** The role must also have Download access to the selected items. Select roles to manage permissions Go to the Permissions tab to select the roles whose permissions you want to view or change. Select one or more roles from the roles panel.Each selected role appears as a column in the main area.To create a role, click Create Roles and see How do I create a role?To exit without saving changes, click Exit. Set content access for a role Use Content Access to control what folders and documents users in a role can view, print, download, or manage. All users in the selected role receive the role's content access. Click the Content Access tab if it is not already displayed.Select the roles you want to work with from the roles list. The far-left column displays the contents of your fileroom, and the central columns display the content-access settings for each selected role.Expand folders as needed to locate the content.Click the applicable segmented permission bar, and then click Edit Permissions.Set the required content-access level.Click Save. A permission set at a higher filing level, such as a folder, applies to content below that level by default. You can set different permissions for specific content below that level when needed. If a fileroom or folder has its permission bar highlighted in gray, or green while in Edit mode, some content below that level has different permissions. Example: Gareth is a reviewer. His role has View access to the Accounts folder, but he needs to download one spreadsheet from that folder. Project Admin Petra changes the permission for that document to Download. Gareth can download that document but continues to have only View access to the other files in the Accounts folder. Set content access for multiple documents Use this procedure to change content access for multiple documents at the same time. Click the Content Access tab if it is not already displayed, and select the roles you want to update.Click a segmented permission bar, and then click Edit Permissions.Filter the document list as needed by using the Status, File Type, or Document Disclaimer column. If Document Disclaimer is not displayed, use Attributes to display it.Select the check box next to each document for which you want to change permissions.Select the applicable permission level.Click Save. You can select up to 200 items per page. If the documents you need are on additional pages, click the right arrow at the bottom of the page and repeat the procedure. Change permissions for one file You can change the content-access level for one file directly from the Documents tab. Native File Download is separate from the content-access levels. If users should download one file in its native format instead of using the role's normal download setting, enable Native File Download for that file. See How do I set a file as Native File Download? Right-click a document and select Permissions. Alternatively, select the document's check box, click More Actions, and select Permissions.Click the Permission column for the applicable role.Select Hidden, View, Print, or Download. The Manage permission level cannot be changed at the file level.Click Save. To verify the change, click the Go to <filename> in Permissions Tab link in the window. Publish or unpublish content from Permissions You can publish or unpublish all project content or selected files from Content Access. Published content does not appear in the index for reviewers unless at least View access has been applied. Publish or unpublish all project content In the Content Access tab, select Edit > Live. You can also select Draft.Select Publish in the top menu, and then select Publish All or Unpublish All. Publish or unpublish individual files In the Content Access tab, select Edit > Live. You can also select Draft.Click the filter icon under the Status column, and select Published or Not Published.Select the check box for each file, click More Actions, and select Publish or Unpublish. Up to 200 documents appear on each page. Repeat the selection and publish or unpublish action for each applicable page. Set feature access for a role Use Feature Access to control which project tools users in a role can use. Changing feature access affects all users assigned to that role. Click the Feature Access tab if it is not already displayed. The far-left column lists the available features, and the central columns display the feature-access settings for each role. Select or clear the applicable check boxes to grant or remove access to a feature. Hover over an information icon for more information about the feature. Example: After Petra gives Gareth's role permission to download one file from the Accounts folder, she removes the role's feature access to download multiple files. Gareth and other users in the same role can continue to download individual files when they have Download access, but they cannot use the multiple-file download feature. View users assigned to a role To see which users share a role's permissions, open the options menu associated with the role and select View Assigned Users. View file attributes File attributes display information about a file or indicate that a file-specific feature is enabled. File attributes are not additional content-access levels. Within Content Access, select Attributes. Select the applicable check boxes to display these attributes: Publish - Displays whether a folder is Published, Not Published, or Partially Published. For files, it displays Published or Not Published.File Type - Displays the file type by file extension.Native File Download - A check mark indicates that Native File Download is enabled for the file.Document Disclaimer - A check mark indicates that a document disclaimer must be accepted before the file can be viewed.TitlePermissionsURL NameNew-Permissions
SummaryExplain how content access, feature access, and roles work together to control what users can access and do in a project.